The Help, NOTD, and Smarter than a Fifth Grader…

Ahh- another weekend come and gone. We were fortunate and had nice, almost balmy weather on Saturday and on Sunday it was cold, sleeting, and then it turned to snow! (and by Thursday of this week it is going to be 70 degrees!)

Movie: The Help

Over the weekend we rented the movie The Help. No, I have not read the book– which is a little unusual for me, but ever since the book club I was in stopped meeting (gulp, it has been a few years now), I have not read as much.  I had heard a lot of buzz about the book and the movie so we decided to rent it for $1.26 from Redbox. I do like Redbox and cannot understand why OnDemand does not charge less- especially for the older movies- I would pay $2 to see a movie from OnDemand and not have to leave the house. Yes, there are a handful of movies for $1.99 but it seems each time I check, there is nothing I want to see. I should check again- it has been a while since I have looked at the OnDemand listing.

The movie was good- entertaining and thought-provoking. I can’t imagine living through those times. Sadly, racism is still prevalent …how do you end it? This is interesting timing though since the  ESPN editor was fired for the racial slur used in one of their headlines about NY Knicks player Jeremy Lin. And Saturday Night Live (SNL), always on top of the current news, did their skit about this- Linsanity Cold Open. Am I promoting it by placing these items on my blog? I hope not…

NOTD

This color is L’Oreal’s Club Prive (3 thin coats). For those of you with an observant eye for detail- yes, there is one coat of…Sinful Colors Mint Apple on my index finger. Yes, the colors are similar- yes, I can see a slight difference and I am sure many of you can too, and yes, I have a bit of a nail polish problem.

L'OrealClubPrive

And- funny observation- I think this color was inspired by…no, not the beautiful waters off the coast of…no, not the beautiful color boxes that Tiffany jewels come in- no…I think it was inspired by Xerox….

Nail polish inspired by...copier

(I am  Not ) Smarter Than a Fifth Grader

Here were the questions- (for answers to these questions check back later this week. Or, if you can’t stand it, you can always Google it.)

1. Is Nigeria a third world country?

2. Is pneumonia contagious?

3. Who was the youngest US president?

4. What year did slavery end?

5. Who is the largest private employer?

For more questions you can watch the TV Show or visit – Fun Education.

Leave a Reply

